Congress’ Parameshwara to be Karnataka Deputy CM

Congress Karnataka President G Parameshwara would be the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka (File Photo)

Bengaluru (Karnatka), May 22, 2018 (TMC Desk) The Congress’ Karnataka President G. Parameshwara would be the Deputy Chief Minister in the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S)-Congress coalition government, a party leader said on Tuesday.

“Party President Rahul Gandhi has approved the name of Parameshwara for the Deputy Chief Minister post in the coalition government,” Congress General Secretary K.C. Venugopal told reporters here.

Parameshwara will take oath after JD-S legislative party leader H.D. Kumarswamy is sworn-in as the Chief Minister on Wednesday evening in front of the Vidhana Soudha.

The 34-member ministry will have 22 cabinet ministers from the Congress and 12 from the JD-S.

“Speaker of the Legislative Assembly will be from the Congress and Deputy Speaker will be from the JD-S,” said Venugopal.

The Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be named on Thursday and names of the cabinet ministers and their portfolios will be announced after the floor test in the hung House.

“A joint coordination committee with members from both the parties will be set up in the next couple of days,” added Venugopal.

Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!