Election to 10 Rajya Sabha seats on August 8 declared

The Election Commission has declared the date for election to 10 seats for Rajya Sabha on August 8.

Several eminent faces are going to end their term with this election from three states including one by-poll from Madhya Pradesh due to the death of Union Environment Minister Anil Dave (the BJP) on May 18 this year whose term was about three more years left.

9 Rajya Sabha members will be elected, 3 from Gujarat and 6 from West Bengal. Ahmed Patel (Congress), Dilipbhai Pandya and Smriti Irani (BJP) from Gujarat and Derek O’Brien, Debabrata Bandhopadhyay, Sukhenduhakhar Roy and Dola Sen (Trinamool), Pradip Bhattacharya (Congress) and Sitaram Yechury (CPI(M)) from West Bengal will leave the seats whose term is going to end on August 18, 2017.

The election was actually announced for June 8, 2017. But on May 22, 2017, the EC had postponed the poll to avoid clash with the July 17 presidential election and the electronic voting machine challenge on June 3, 2017.

These members will be able to cast their ballot in the election of president and vice-president as their retirement is due after that.

Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!