NOTA, Independents played spoilsport to Congress hopes in Gujarat

NOTA in EVM machine. Image credit: The Hindu

–Amit Cowper

Gandhinagar, Dec 19: The Gujarat Assembly elections saw not only a marked increase in None Of The Above (NOTA) voters, these votes also played a significant role in deciding the results. Many wins of the BJP were very thin, and in these seats the NOTA votes were more than the victory margin.

Had it not been for NOTA, the Congress in all likelihood would have won with a majority to form the government, say analysts.

Of the total 1,50,19,245 votes cast in the 2017 Assembly elections, almost 1.8 per cent — or 5,51,414 voters – pressed the NOTA button on the Electronic Voting Machines.

In Ahmedabad’s Dholka constituency, BJP cabinet Minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasama won with just 327 votes over Congress’ Ashwin Rathod. The third highest voter getter was an independent Shaktisinh Sisodiya with 4,222 votes, but the spoilsport for Congress was NOTA with 2,347 votes.

In Khambhatt constituency, BJP’s Mahesh Rawal won, leading with 2,318 votes against Congress’ Khushmanbhai Patel. Here the third highest votes went to NOTA with 2,731. In Visnagar, BJP’s Rushikesh Patel won by a lead of 2,869 votes over Congress’ Mahesh Patel, and the third highest votes went to NOTA – 2,992.

In Fatehpura constituency, BJP candidate Rameshbhai Katara won with a lead of 2,711 votes over Congress’ Raghubhai Machhar, with NOTA being the third highest vote getter with 4,573 – far more than the NCP candidate who got 2,747 votes. In Matar constituency, BJP’s Kesharisinh Solanki won with a margin of 2,406 votes over Sanjaybhai Patel of Congress, where the third highest was NOTA with 4,090 votes, far more than the independent candidate who bagged 1,936 votes.

In Himmatnagar constituency, BJP’s Rajendrasinh Chavda beat Congress candidate Kamleshkumar Patel by 1,712 votes, with NOTA again getting the third highest votes at 3,334, while the fourth was the BSP candidate. In Porbandar there was a battle between two bigwigs, BJP’s sitting MLA and cabinet Minister Babubhai Bokhiria who won over senior Congressman Arjun Modhwadia with a thin margin of 1,855 votes. The third highest vote chunk went to BSP candidate (4,337) but the NOTA votes were 3,433, just enough for Modhwadia to have got the coveted seat.

The Umreth constituency was grabbed by BJP candidate Govind Parmar over Congress’ Kapilaben Chavda with thin margin of 1,883 votes, where the third highest vote chunk was NOTA (3,710) – more than what the fourth-placed independent got(1,286). The Rajkot rural seat was taken by BJP’s Lakhabhai Sagathiya with a narrow margin of 2,179 votes over Vashrambhai Sagathiya from Congress. Although the third highest vote getter was the BSP candidate (3,323), NOTA grabbed 2,559 votes.

Another bigwig from the BJP who narrowly won with a thin margin was former cabinet Minister Saurabh Patel (Dalal) from Botad seat. He won with a margin of 906 votes over Congress’ Dhirajlal Kalathiya. The NOTA votes were 1,334.

The Congress rebel who defected to the saffron party before the Rajya Sabha elections, C.K. Raulji, won with a slim margin of 258 votes over Congress rival Rajendrasinh Parmar. Here NOTA votes were 3,050.

In seats like Sanand, Gariadhar, Deesa, Sayajiganj (Vadodara), Chanasma, Mahuva (Surat), Vijapur, Gandhinagar (south), and Kheralu that were won by BJP candidates with narrow margins, the independent candidates made a huge dent in votes of the Congress candidates.



Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!


  1. I was speaking with a friend of mine on this info and regarding sports today too. I think you made a lot of good points in this article, we’re excited to continue reading material from you.

  2. There’s awesome improvements on the layout of this website, I honestly like this! My website is on the subject of single story house plans and presently there are quite a lot of stuff to be done, I am currently a starter in website creation. Be careful!

  3. Are you tired of your ac repair in Dubai? Are you looking for Certified Professionals to carry out your ac repair with improved facilities and in an expert way?. Hot and humid conditions are not easy to tolerate, especially when you are not used to them. But, thanks to the air conditioners – living in such extreme settings can also become a pleasant experience, and more so if you are in Dubai.

  4. Thanks a bunch for this marvelous content! I definitely liked learning about.I’ll make certain to save the page and will often come back very soon. I wish to encourage you to definitely continue your excellent work, perhaps try to think of carpet and sofa cleaning too, have a good afternoon!

  5. It was actually wonderful reading this info and I think you’re completely correct. Let me know if perhaps you are involved in microsoft excel training, that is my primary competency. I am hoping to hear from you in the near future, take good care!

  6. My family and I totally enjoy your website and find most of the blogposts to be exactly what I’m trying to find. Would you offer people to post material for you? I would not mind writing a story on bitcoin value or maybe on a number of the things you write about here. Again, awesome website!

  7. There is fantastic modifications on the structure of the blog, I certainly enjoy that! Mine is regarding rich media distribution and there are a lot of stuff to be done, I am currently a beginner in internet site design. Take good care!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.