Om Prakash Rawat appointed Chief Election Commissioner

New Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat. Image credit: The Indian Express

–TMC Desk

New Delhi, Jan 21: Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was on Sunday appointed as the Chief Election Commissioner by President Ram Nath Kovind, an official statement said.

Kovind also appointed former Union Finance Secretary Ashok Lavasa as an Election Commissioner.

Rawat will take the charge on Tuesday after incumbent Achal Kumar Joti demits the office on Monday.

A 1977-batch IAS officer from the Madhya Pradesh cadre, Rawat was appointed as Election Commissioner in August 2015.

Lavasa will also take charge on Tuesday, joining Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, a former Information and Broadcasting Secretary.


Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!