Phase 5 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019: States, constituencies, and key candidates going to the polls on May 6

(A representation image)

In the fifth of the seven phases of general election 2019 to be held on May 6, a total of 51 seats across seven States will go to polls.

Voting will take place in a number of seats in Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, and Jammu and Kashmir.

Uttar Pradesh will see citizens voting in 14 constituencies while Jammu and Kashmir will see two constituencies going to polls. This is the first election in Ladakh division following its split from the Kashmir division earlier this year.

Other States going to polls are Rajasthan (12 constituencies), Madhya Pradesh (7), West Bengal (7), Bihar (5) and Jharkhand (4).

This phase will see voting in many high-profile seats. In Uttar Pradesh, both Rae Bareli and Amethi — constituencies which are traditional strongholds of Congress — will witness a heated contest between Congress and BJP heavy weights.

In Rae Bareli, former Congress president Sonia Gandhi who has held the seat from 2004, will face former Congress leader and current BJP candidate Dinesh Pratap Singh. In Amethi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi will contest against sitting Minister Smrithi Irani.

State-wise list of constituencies

Bihar: Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur

Rajasthan: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa and Nagaur

Jammu and Kashmir: Ladakh and Anantnag

Jharkhand: Kodarma, Ranchi, Khunti and Hazaribagh

Uttar Pradesh: Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj and Gonda

West Bengal: Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uleberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly and Arambag

Madhya Pradesh: Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad and Betul

Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!